GitHub Enterprise now includes GitHub Copilot with no seat charge and AI usage billed from the first request

GitHub has changed how large organizations pay for its coding assistant. Since October 28, 2026, customers of GitHub Enterprise Cloud can give every licensed user access to GitHub Copilot without buying a separate Copilot subscription, a model GitHub calls Copilot access. The Copilot seat charge for those users drops to $0, but the change comes with a trade-off that procurement and engineering leaders need to understand before switching: there is no longer any included allowance of AI usage, so every credit-consuming request is metered and billed from the first one.
The announcement was made at GitHub Universe 2026 and documented the same day in the GitHub changelog and in a dedicated documentation page. GitHub describes the new arrangement as available now for GitHub Enterprise Cloud customers that work with a GitHub or Microsoft account team. Self-serve customers cannot use it yet: GitHub says it is opening the option "in stages" and will share dates "in the coming weeks", and current self-serve subscriptions are not affected in the meantime. Existing Copilot Business and Copilot Enterprise customers can keep their plans, and both plans remain on sale for new and existing enterprises.
For users in an enterprise account who do not hold a GitHub Enterprise license, GitHub has introduced Copilot Standalone at $10 per user per month. It gives the same Copilot access as the Enterprise-licensed users, again without any included usage, so the $10 pays for identity, access, policy, security and administration controls rather than for AI consumption.
··········
WHAT CHANGES IN THE COPILOT PRICE LIST.
Until this week, an enterprise buying Copilot managed two numbers at once: how many seats it paid for and how much AI usage those seats consumed beyond the credits bundled with them. Under Copilot access, GitHub says the enterprise budget becomes the main thing to manage, because the seat itself is either free (for GitHub Enterprise Cloud users) or a flat administrative fee (for Copilot Standalone users), and everything else is consumption.
The official comparison published in GitHub's documentation sets the four options side by side.
........
Option | Seat charge per user per month | Included AI credits per user per month |
Copilot Business | $19 | 1,900, pooled |
Copilot Enterprise | $39 | 3,900, pooled |
Copilot access, user with GitHub Enterprise Cloud license | $0 | None |
Copilot access, Copilot Standalone user | $10 | None |
........
GitHub's billing documentation explains how the credits work. One AI credit equals $0.01, so the 1,900 credits bundled with a Copilot Business seat correspond to $19 of usage and the 3,900 credits of a Copilot Enterprise seat to $39. Included credits are pooled across the billing entity, which means that 100 Business users share 190,000 credits rather than each holding a private quota. Unused credits do not carry over and the pool resets at 00:00 UTC on the first day of every month.
Usage is measured in tokens, with input, output and cached tokens priced according to the model that served the request, and then converted into credits. The features that consume credits include Copilot Chat, Copilot CLI, the cloud agent, Spaces, Spark and third-party coding agents. Inline code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited on every option.
Feature and model eligibility under Copilot access matches Copilot Enterprise, subject to the policies and spending controls administrators set. In practice, an enterprise that moves from Copilot Business to Copilot access gains the Enterprise feature set while giving up the bundled credits.
··········
HOW BUDGETS AND LIMITS WORK UNDER COPILOT ACCESS.
Because nothing is included, budgets become the control that matters. GitHub's documentation lists four levels, all set in US dollars, where $10 corresponds to 1,000 credits.
........
Budget level | What it limits |
User | One user's total consumption per billing cycle, always a hard stop |
Cost center | Metered charges for a defined group of users |
Organization | Metered charges for users whose seats are billed to the organization |
Enterprise | Total metered charges across the whole enterprise |
........
With Copilot Business and Copilot Enterprise, spending limits start to bite only after the pooled credits are exhausted. With Copilot access, they apply from the first use. To enforce a limit, administrators need to enable the setting "Stop usage when budget limit is reached"; a user-level budget of $0 blocks credit-consuming features immediately.
The behavior when money runs out is the most practical detail for developers. According to GitHub, code completion and next edit suggestions keep working even with no budget available, at a $0 budget or after an enforced spending limit has been reached. Copilot Chat, Copilot code review and Copilot in the cloud require available budget. An exhausted budget never removes the seat itself or the features that do not depend on credits, so a developer who hits the ceiling loses the agentic and conversational tools but keeps inline suggestions in the editor.
A second policy deserves attention. The "AI credits paid usage" policy in AI Controls is enabled by default for Business, Enterprise and Copilot access. GitHub notes that, under Copilot access, it must stay enabled for users to reach any credit-consuming feature at all; disabling it does not merely stop overage, as it does on the bundled plans, but switches those features off.
··········
WHAT A REQUEST COSTS IN AI CREDITS.
Since every credit-consuming request now lands on the bill, the per-token prices in GitHub's models and pricing reference translate directly into enterprise spend. The figures below are the standard rates listed there for a selection of models, in US dollars per 1 million tokens.
........
Model in Copilot | Input | Cached input | Cache write | Output |
Claude Haiku 5.5 (up to 100K input) | $0.10 | $0.01 | $0.125 | $0.50 |
Claude Sonnet 5.5 | $2.00 | $0.10 | $2.50 | $10.00 |
GPT-6.1 Sol (up to 272K input) | $2.00 | $0.10 | $2.50 | $10.00 |
Claude Opus 5.5 | $4.00 | $0.20 | $5.00 | $20.00 |
........
GitHub labels the Gemini prices on the same page as promotional: Gemini 3.8 Flash at $0.75 input and $3.75 output until December 31, 2026, and Gemini 4 Argon at $2.00 input and $10.00 output until December 1, 2026. For Copilot code review, the documentation says the model is selected automatically and not disclosed, so per-token costs can vary from one review to the next, and each review also consumes GitHub Actions minutes in addition to AI credits.
As an illustration, consider a chat request that sends 20,000 tokens of context, of which 15,000 are read from cache, and receives 1,500 tokens of output. On Claude Sonnet 5.5 or GPT-6.1 Sol it costs about $0.0265, or roughly 2.65 credits; 300 such requests in a month add up to about $7.95. The same pattern costs about $0.42 a month on Claude Haiku 5.5 and about $15.90 on Claude Opus 5.5. These are Data Studios calculations on the published per-token rates with stated assumptions, not GitHub estimates, and real sessions with agents, long contexts or repeated tool calls can consume far more.
··········
WHO SAVES AND WHO PAYS MORE.
The change is not automatically cheaper or more expensive; it depends on how much each developer actually uses. To make the trade-off concrete, Data Studios modelled an enterprise with 200 Copilot users and different average levels of metered usage per user per month, using only the published seat charges and included credits. The calculation ignores the cost of the GitHub Enterprise Cloud license itself, which the enterprise pays in any case, and any account-specific discounts.
........
Average usage per user | Copilot Business | Copilot Enterprise | Copilot access with GitHub Enterprise license | Copilot access via Copilot Standalone |
$5 | $3,800 | $7,800 | $1,000 | $3,000 |
$9 | $3,800 | $7,800 | $1,800 | $3,800 |
$15 | $3,800 | $7,800 | $3,000 | $5,000 |
$19 | $3,800 | $7,800 | $3,800 | $5,800 |
$30 | $6,000 | $7,800 | $6,000 | $8,000 |
$50 | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | $12,000 |
........
The arithmetic leads to a clear pattern. For users who already hold a GitHub Enterprise Cloud license, Copilot access is never more expensive than Copilot Business or Copilot Enterprise at list prices: the bundled plans charge the seat whether or not the credits are used, while Copilot access charges only what is consumed. The saving is largest for light users, where an enterprise paying $19 or $39 per seat for developers who mostly rely on inline completions would now pay only for the occasional chat or agent session.
For users who need Copilot Standalone, the picture reverses as usage grows. With 200 users, Copilot Standalone matches Copilot Business at an average of $9 of usage per user and becomes more expensive above that level, because the $10 fee buys no credits. Against Copilot Enterprise, Standalone stays cheaper up to an average of $29 of usage per user. At heavy consumption, $50 per user in this model, Business, Enterprise and Copilot access converge at the same total while Standalone adds its fixed $2,000.
What disappears in every case is predictability. A bundled seat caps the cost of a light month; Copilot access turns Copilot into a pure consumption line that moves with agent adoption, model choice and the size of the contexts developers send. GitHub's own guidance for estimating the switch reflects this: add up current license and metered charges, estimate what total usage would cost with no included allowance, including the usage the pooled credits currently absorb, add $10 for every Copilot Standalone user and compare the totals.
··········
WHAT ENTERPRISE ADMINISTRATORS NEED TO DO.
The transition is voluntary and is handled through sales. Enterprises that want to move contact their GitHub or Microsoft account team, which confirms eligibility, reviews the impact on access and billing and sets a date. GitHub states that contacting the account team does not by itself change anything, and that transitions take effect on the first day of a month.
Several restrictions apply. GitHub Free and GitHub Team organizations are not eligible, and neither are self-service GitHub Enterprise Cloud trials. The billing model applies to the whole enterprise, so Copilot access cannot be mixed with Copilot Business or Copilot Enterprise seats, not even at the organization level; it can, however, combine GitHub Enterprise-licensed users and Copilot Standalone users. Access is not automatic either: enterprise owners must still assign Copilot to members, teams or organizations, including users who already hold a GitHub Enterprise Cloud license.
Two technical points can cause disruption if they are missed. Copilot access uses the Enterprise endpoint, so companies whose firewall allowlist only includes *.business.githubcopilot.com must add *.enterprise.githubcopilot.com. And the "AI credits paid usage" policy must remain enabled, otherwise credit-consuming features stop working. GitHub also recommends setting budgets from the cost estimate before the switch and leaving room for growth in users and usage.
The pricing shift lands alongside other Universe announcements that push developers toward heavier, agent-driven consumption, including the general availability of GitHub Copilot Fusion with automatic model routing, the new GitHub Copilot app and Copilot code review Max. Every one of those features draws on AI credits, which is precisely the line that Copilot access now bills without a cushion.
··········
WHAT IS ESTABLISHED AND WHAT REMAINS OPEN.
The documented facts are specific. GitHub Enterprise Cloud customers working with an account team can, from October 28, 2026, provide Copilot to licensed users with no seat charge; other users in the enterprise can be added through Copilot Standalone at $10 per user per month; neither path includes AI credits; usage is metered from the first request at 1 credit per $0.01; inline completions and next edit suggestions remain unlimited and keep working without budget; and Copilot Business at $19 and Copilot Enterprise at $39 remain available with 1,900 and 3,900 pooled credits respectively.
Several points are not yet documented. GitHub has not given dates for self-serve availability, only a staged rollout "in the coming weeks". The documentation directs customers to confirm account-specific pricing with their account team, so negotiated terms may differ from the list figures used here. The model used for Copilot code review is not disclosed, which makes its per-review cost hard to forecast, and the cost of agentic sessions will depend heavily on how teams configure models, budgets and routing. For organizations whose developers use Copilot lightly, the new model removes a fixed cost; for organizations betting on agents at scale, it replaces a predictable seat price with a budget that has to be actively governed.
··········
FOLLOW US FOR MORE.
·····
DATA STUDIOS
·····
datastudios.org




