GPT-6 Astra vs Gemini 3.8 Flash: Complete Comparison and Report on Pricing, Benchmarks, Context Window, and Tier Positioning
- 6 hours ago
- 11 min read

OpenAI released GPT-6 Astra on September 3, 2026. Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash one day earlier, on September 2. Both launches happened in the same 48 hours, and both get cited together on comparison sites, but they are not the same kind of release: Astra is OpenAI's flagship, and Gemini 3.8 Flash is Google's mid-tier workhorse, priced at roughly a thirteenth of Astra's input rate.
Here we treat that asymmetry as the subject rather than hiding it. We cover where the two models are genuinely comparable, where Google's own launch claims rest on unpublished or image-only evidence, and where the price gap changes what workload each model should actually run.
··········
RELEASE TIMELINE AND MODEL IDENTITY.
Model identifiers, lineage, and what each vendor actually shipped.
........
Attribute | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash |
Vendor | OpenAI | Google DeepMind |
Release date | September 3, 2026 | September 2, 2026 |
Model ID | gpt-6-astra | gemini-3.8-flash |
Predecessor | GPT-5.6 Sol | Gemini 3.7 Flash (August 13, 2026) |
Base architecture | New generation | Built on the Gemini 3.7 Flash architecture |
Tier | Flagship | Mid-tier, below the Pro line |
Sibling variant | GPT-6 Astra Pro (ChatGPT only) | Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber (Fairwind Program) |
Release cadence | Successor after roughly ten weeks | Third Flash release in six weeks |
........
The base-architecture line is worth reading twice. Gemini 3.8 Flash's own model card sends readers back to the 3.7 Flash card for training and architecture details, meaning Google shipped a behavioral refinement of a model that was three weeks old, not a new base model. Astra is a full generational successor to GPT-5.6 Sol.
That difference in scope explains the release cadence. Google has now shipped three Flash-tier models in six weeks, tuning agentic persistence and tool-calling behavior on a fixed base. OpenAI's flagship cadence runs closer to ten weeks between generations, each involving a new base model.
··········
TIER POSITIONING AND WHY THIS COMPARISON IS ASYMMETRIC.
Where each model sits in its vendor's own lineup, and what that means for reading the rest of this report.
Gemini 3.8 Flash sits below Google's Pro-tier models, which the company continues to position as its reasoning frontier. Google's own documentation describes 3.8 Flash's purpose as cost-effective scaling of general-purpose agents, not maximum capability, and explicitly recommends its Pro-tier models for tasks where Flash plateaus even at high effort.
GPT-6 Astra has no equivalent internal ceiling above it. It is OpenAI's most capable public model, rated Critical for cybersecurity capability under the company's Preparedness Framework, a threshold no Flash-tier model has approached.
The asymmetry matters for a second reason. Google has not shipped a new Pro-tier or Ultra-tier model since Gemini 3.5 Pro, which by early September 2026 had gone more than eighty days without a stated release date. The natural comparator for Astra inside Google's own lineup does not currently exist as a current-generation product, which is part of why Gemini 3.8 Flash keeps appearing in cross-vendor comparison tables it was not built to win.
Read the benchmark sections that follow with this in mind: a Flash-tier model coming close to a flagship's score on any single benchmark is a genuinely interesting result. A Flash-tier model losing to a flagship is not evidence of a weaker model overall, since the two were built for different budgets on both sides of the API call.
··········
PRICING ACROSS THIRTEEN TIMES THE COST GAP.
........
Rate per 1M tokens | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash (through Dec 31, 2026) | Gemini 3.8 Flash (from Jan 1, 2027) |
Standard input | $10 | $0.75 | $1.50 |
Standard output | $50 | $3.75 | $7.50 |
Batch input | 50% of applicable rate | $0.375 | $0.75 |
Batch output | 50% of applicable rate | $1.875 | $3.75 |
Priority/Fast input | 2x standard | $1.35 | $2.70 |
Priority/Fast output | 2x standard | $6.75 | $13.50 |
Cache read | $1.00 | Not published in this table | Not published in this table |
........
Astra's input rate is 13.3 times Gemini 3.8 Flash's current promotional rate, and its output rate is also 13.3 times higher. Once Google's standard pricing doubles on January 1, 2027, the multiple narrows to 6.7x, still a wide gap.
The January 2027 date is not specific to 3.8 Flash. Google runs one shared promotional window across its entire Flash 3.x family, from 3.5 through 3.8, with a single end date rather than a fresh clock per release. Anyone budgeting against the current rate should treat that date as fixed regardless of which Flash point release they adopt in the meantime.
Astra's pricing has a different kind of cliff: cross 272,000 input tokens in a single request and the entire request, not just the excess, bills at double the input and cache rate and 1.5 times the output rate. Gemini 3.8 Flash has no equivalent threshold inside its 1,048,576-token window.
··········
CONTEXT WINDOW AND OUTPUT LIMITS.
Window sizes and the output ceiling that governs long agent runs.
........
Limit | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash |
Context window | 1,050,000 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
Maximum output | 128,000 tokens | 65,536 tokens |
Knowledge cutoff | April 30, 2026 | March 2026 for most domains, January 2025 for some, undisclosed which |
Long-context billing threshold | 272,000 input tokens | None |
Thinking levels | low, medium, high, xhigh, max | low, medium, high (no minimal level) |
........
The input windows are functionally identical, within half a percent of each other. The output ceiling is not: Astra allows exactly twice Gemini 3.8 Flash's maximum output per request. For an agent that reasons at length and calls tools repeatedly inside a single turn, a 65,536-token ceiling gets consumed by the reasoning and tool-call transcript well before the input window fills, which is a documented constraint in Google's own model documentation rather than a criticism from outside it.
Gemini 3.8 Flash's split knowledge cutoff is unusual and undocumented in its specifics. Google states most domains reach March 2026 while some stop at January 2025, without listing which domains fall under the earlier date, so testing domain-specific prompts before relying on recency is a stated requirement rather than a precaution.
··········
SPECIFICATIONS AND MODALITIES.
Input and output support, and the tools each model exposes through its API.
........
Capability | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash |
Text input | Yes | Yes |
Image input | Yes | Yes |
Video input | Not specified | Yes |
Audio input | Not specified | Yes |
PDF input | Not specified | Yes, native |
Output | Text | Text only |
Native image/audio generation | Not supported | Not supported |
Hosted tools | Web search, code interpreter, hosted shell, apply-patch, computer use, MCP | Function calling, code execution, computer use (preview), file search, search grounding, Maps grounding, structured outputs, URL context |
Tool-calling API requirement | Responses API only | Not applicable |
........
Gemini 3.8 Flash accepts a wider input modality range at launch, with video and audio input and native PDF handling all documented. Astra's public specification does not list video, audio, or PDF input directly, though its computer-use tool covers a different class of visual interaction.
Both models restrict tool calling to a specific interface: Astra requires the Responses API and does not support tool calling through Chat Completions, while Gemini 3.8 Flash's computer-use tool remains in preview rather than general availability.
··········
BENCHMARK COVERAGE AND SOURCE RELIABILITY.
Why most of what circulates as a head-to-head result is not one.
No independent organization had published a direct benchmark comparison between these two models as of their respective launch dates. Every comparative figure available at launch originates from one vendor or the other, and the two vendors did not test each other's models under matching conditions.
Google's own launch materials illustrate the gap between claim and evidence. The launch post states that 3.8 Flash outperforms most larger frontier models on long-horizon engineering, but names no competitor models in the accompanying text, showing the comparison only as a chart image. Two additional tested categories, Terminal-Bench 2.1 and MRCR v2 long-context recall, are rendered as images in Google's evaluation report rather than as numbers in a table, so any figure quoted for them elsewhere is a third party's reading of a graphic, not a sourced number.
Separately, Google's own six-model comparison table, prepared internally, shows Gemini 3.8 Flash leading Claude Opus 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol on Vals Finance Agent v2 and Terminal-Bench 2.1, while trailing both on Terminal-Bench 4.0 and OSWorld-2.0. Every Gemini score in that table is self-computed by Google, and every competitor score is the competitor's own reported figure, which makes it a vendor document rather than a neutral test, regardless of which direction any individual row favors.
A further labeling inconsistency affects the headline coding result: Gemini 3.8 Flash's own model card reports its DeepSWE score against version 1 of the benchmark, while Google's launch post and the 3.7 Flash card cite version 1.1. Google treats the two as comparable, but the version should be pinned before the roughly six-point gain is used in any cost or capability argument.
··········
DIRECTLY COMPARABLE SCORES.
The narrow set of benchmarks both vendors have published figures for.
........
Benchmark | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash | Note |
DeepSWE, long-horizon engineering | 74.1% (v1.1) | ~71.0% (v1, per model card; v1.1 per launch post) | Closest result between the two models |
Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 57.7% | Trails, exact figure not published in this table | From Google's internal six-model table |
Terminal-Bench 2.1 | Not published by OpenAI | 90.8% (up from 81.6% for 3.7 Flash) | Different benchmark version than Astra's |
OSWorld 2.0 | 72.6% partial | Trails, exact figure not published in this table | From Google's internal six-model table |
HLE-Verified / HLE with tools | 57.2% with tools | 54.9% on HLE-Verified | Different benchmark variants, not the same test |
Vals Finance Agent v2 | Not published by OpenAI | 61.4%, leads Opus 5 and Sol per Google | No Astra figure to compare against |
........
DeepSWE is the one row where the two models sit within three points of each other on what appears to be the same underlying benchmark, and it is also the row with the clearest version ambiguity on the Gemini side. Every other row either compares different benchmark versions, relies on an unpublished exact figure from a vendor's internal table, or has data from only one of the two vendors.
The practical reading: on the single benchmark most directly comparable, a model priced at roughly a thirteenth of Astra's rate scores within striking distance. On the two rows drawn from Google's own comparison table, the same cheaper model trails on both.
··········
THE HIDDEN COST OF "SAME PRICE PER TOKEN."
Why per-token parity with the prior model did not produce per-task parity.
Gemini 3.8 Flash's list price is identical to Gemini 3.7 Flash's, a genuine rarity at a point release. Google's own launch post explains why that identical price does not translate to an identical bill: the model may use more tokens to maximize performance, particularly at higher effort levels, because it runs more reasoning steps and calls tools more times on hard problems.
Artificial Analysis quantified that effect directly, finding that running its full Intelligence Index costs roughly 40% more on 3.8 Flash than on 3.7 Flash, despite the unchanged per-token price. The gap comes entirely from token volume: a longer transcript at the same unit rate is still a larger bill.
Astra carries a different, more visible version of the same principle through its 272,000-token long-context threshold, where the entire request repriced rather than only the tokens above the line. Gemini 3.8 Flash's mechanism is more subtle because the list price never changes, and the cost increase shows up only once someone actually measures completed-task token volume rather than trusting the per-token rate.
Google's stated workaround is to drop to a lower thinking level when the task tolerates it, or to remain on Gemini 3.7 Flash for workloads where efficiency, not peak quality, is the constraint.
··········
LATENCY AND THROUGHPUT.
Independent speed measurement against Astra's undisclosed profile.
........
Measure | GPT-6 Astra | Gemini 3.8 Flash |
Output throughput rank | Not published | 3rd of 196 models evaluated |
Time to first token | Not published | 13.30 seconds |
Median TTFT across evaluated models | Not published | 2.99 seconds |
Verbosity rank | Not published | 74th of 196 models evaluated |
........
Artificial Analysis places Gemini 3.8 Flash third of 196 models on raw output speed, but its time to first token, at 13.30 seconds, sits well above the 2.99-second median across the same model set. The combination describes a model that takes longer to begin responding, largely because of the reasoning that happens before the first output token, and then generates quickly once it starts.
OpenAI has published no equivalent latency or throughput figures for Astra, so no direct comparison is possible on this dimension. The absence itself is notable given how central computer-use and agentic latency are to Astra's own positioning around asynchronous, interruptible work.
··········
THE CYBER VARIANT AND THE FAIRWIND PROGRAM.
Google's own version of the safeguard-gated twin, released the same day as the public model.
Google shipped Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber alongside the general-purpose model on September 2, 2026, sharing the same underlying core but built for vulnerability detection and automated patching, with more permissive cybersecurity mitigations than the public model. Access runs through Google's new Fairwind Program, restricted to vetted government authorities, critical infrastructure operators, and software maintainers who apply rather than sign up.
Google's published figures for the Cyber variant: a pass rate above 70% on an internal 20-language vulnerability discovery benchmark, a position on the Pareto frontier of Collinear's CWE-Bench patching benchmark at 47.2% pass@1 against 47.8% for what Google describes only as a leading frontier model, and 2.6 times more correct Chrome vulnerability patches than larger commercial models in testing run by the Chrome Security team. Wiz separately measured 7.5 to 9.7 percentage points higher recall on its internal penetration-testing benchmark at 2.3 to 5.2 times lower cost than other leading frontier models.
The structural parallel to Anthropic's Fable-and-Mythos split and to Astra's own gated cyber capability is direct: three vendors have now converged on the same pattern of shipping a public model alongside a more permissive, access-controlled sibling for defensive security work, in the same release week. Because the Cyber variant shares a core with the public 3.8 Flash, its results function as evidence of that core's ceiling without being a claim about what the publicly available model will do unmodified.
··········
PRICING CLIFF: JANUARY 1, 2027.
A dated cost change on one side of this comparison with no published equivalent on the other.
Gemini 3.8 Flash's entire rate card doubles on January 1, 2027: standard input from $0.75 to $1.50, standard output from $3.75 to $7.50, and the Batch and Priority tiers with them. The date is fixed and public, and it applies across the whole Flash 3.x family regardless of which point release a team is running at the time.
Any cost model built on Gemini 3.8 Flash's current pricing should be re-run against the January 2027 rate before it is used to justify a long-term migration decision, since a case that only closes at the introductory price does not close at all.
OpenAI has published no equivalent scheduled pricing change for Astra. GPT-5.6 Sol's promotional rate of $4 input and $20 output is confirmed only through at least November 21, 2026, which means both vendors have a near-term pricing horizon worth tracking, on different models and different dates.
··········
WORKLOAD ALLOCATION CRITERIA.
A bake-off protocol in place of a verdict that the published data cannot support.
The published evidence does not support declaring either model better than the other in general terms, because they were not built to compete on the same axis. Astra is priced and rated for work that justifies a flagship's cost: tasks at the edge of what any model can do, where a lower model would fail outright rather than merely cost more. Gemini 3.8 Flash is priced and rated for high-volume, long-running agent work where a thirteen-fold cost difference compounds across thousands of tasks and a few percentage points of accuracy on any single benchmark rarely change the outcome.
The decision that actually matters is whether a given workload's failure cost justifies Astra's price premium, and that number does not come from either vendor's launch table. A workable test: pull 30 to 50 real tasks from production traffic, run them on both models at the effort or thinking level intended for deployment, score outcomes against one fixed rubric, and divide total spend by successful completions rather than by token count. Log full transcript length, not just the final answer, since Gemini 3.8 Flash's cost variability and Astra's long-context billing threshold both hide inside transcript volume rather than in the list price.
Re-run that test after any point release on either side. Google's cadence has produced three Flash models in six weeks, and a comparison run today may not hold in a month.
·····
FOLLOW US FOR MORE.
·····
DATA STUDIOS
·····
[datastudios.org]

