top of page

Amazon launches new Alexa+ Echo devices, from a $99.99 Echo Dot with an AI accelerator to a redesigned Echo Show 16

2 hours ago
8 min read
Cover showing the title Amazon launches new Alexa+ Echo devices, from a $99.99 Echo Dot with an AI accelerator to a redesigned Echo Show 16 - Data Studios original cover

Amazon has introduced a new lineup of Echo devices built around Alexa+, its generative AI assistant, in an announcement published on October 28, 2026. The range covers a next-generation Echo Dot at $99.99, an Echo Studio with Home Camera at $249.99, a bedside smart alarm clock called Echo Time at $199.99, an Alexa Photo Frame, and a redesigned Echo Show 16 smart display that starts at $499.99. The Echo Dot, the camera-equipped Echo Studio and Echo Time are available immediately, while the Echo Show 16 is open for preorder and is due to ship later this year.


The hardware arrives together with an update to Alexa+ itself. According to Amazon, the assistant now holds more natural conversations, reasons more deeply, asks clarifying questions and coordinates across more sources to complete multi-step requests. On devices with a screen, conversations are organized visually into "Cards" that can be resumed across Echo devices, the Alexa app and Alexa.com, and the assistant can generate visual content during a conversation on displays such as the Echo Show 16.


For buyers, the practical framework is unchanged from earlier in the year: certain features on the new devices require Alexa+, which is included at no additional cost with a Prime membership and costs $19.99 per month for households without Prime. All prices in the announcement are in US dollars, and Amazon did not list launch countries outside the United States for these devices.


··········


THE NEW ECHO LINEUP AT A GLANCE.


The announcement spans speakers, a clock, a frame and a large smart display, each positioned for a different room. The table summarizes prices and availability as Amazon published them on October 28.


........


Device

Price (USD)

Availability on October 28

Key AI-related feature

Echo Dot

$99.99

Ships now

AZ3 chip with AI Accelerator

Amazon Kids Echo Dot

From $109.99

Not specified

One year of Kids+ included

Echo Studio with Home Camera

$249.99

Ships now

Camera with visual intelligence

Echo Studio (no camera)

$219.99

Available

Alexa+ speaker with Dolby Atmos

Echo Time

$199.99

Available now

Sleep sensing with Omnisense

Amazon Kids Echo Time

From $209.99

Not specified

Kids+ and parental sleep schedules

Alexa Photo Frame

Not disclosed

Not disclosed

Automatic photo curation

Echo Show 16

From $499.99

Preorder, ships later this year

Alexa+ Cards and Alexa Home Map

Echo Show 16 Nanomatte

$569.99

Preorder, ships later this year

Anti-glare display


........


Several accessories are sold separately: a $39.99 stand for the Echo Dot, a $39.99 stand for the Echo Studio, a $39.99 adjustable stand for Echo Time, and two stands for the Echo Show 16 at $69.99 and $124.99, the latter with swivel and tilt. Amazon is also offering $100 off the Echo Show 16 for customers who preorder.


··········


ECHO DOT: ON-DEVICE AI, A SMART HOME HUB AND A WI-FI EXTENDER.


The new Echo Dot is the most significant change in the lineup from a technical point of view, because it moves more of the work onto the device. It runs on Amazon's custom AZ3 silicon, which includes a new AI Accelerator for on-device processing. Amazon says the accelerator improves conversation detection and filters background noise, two functions that matter for an assistant expected to follow more natural, multi-turn exchanges rather than single commands. A fourth microphone has been added, and the speaker supports Voice ID to recognize household members.


The Dot is also the first in its line with a built-in smart home hub. It supports Zigbee, Matter and Thread, so compatible lights, locks and thermostats can be connected without a separate bridge. Amazon has also integrated an eero Wi-Fi extender that covers up to 1,000 square feet, and Omnisense sensor fusion that detects room temperature and presence, which Alexa can use for routines. On audio, Amazon claims 50% more bass than the previous generation. The Echo Dot is offered in Graphite, Glacier White, Agave Green and Coral Pink.


The Amazon Kids Echo Dot shares the same hardware and adds a year of Amazon Kids+, which includes Audible audiobooks, ad-free music and radio and kid-friendly podcasts, along with child profiles that give age-appropriate responses. It comes in Octopus and Penguin designs.


··········


ECHO STUDIO WITH HOME CAMERA: GIVING ALEXA+ A VIEW OF THE ROOM.


The Echo Studio with Home Camera adds a built-in camera to Amazon's premium speaker, which turns it into a device that Alexa+ can use to see as well as hear. Amazon's examples show the intended use: a user can show the camera a board game and ask Alexa+ to explain its rules, or hold up a cereal box so that the assistant recognizes it and reorders it. The camera also supports Live View in the Alexa app, so owners can check on the room remotely.


As a speaker, the device keeps the Echo Studio's audio features, including Dolby Atmos, a high-excursion woofer, Advanced Room Adaptation that continuously tunes playback to the room, and Adaptive Volume. Amazon says pairing with compatible Fire TV devices for video calls on the television is coming soon, without giving a date.


Because a camera in a living room raises obvious questions, Amazon describes two privacy controls. A dedicated button turns off both the microphones and the camera, and a built-in LED lights up whenever the camera is streaming to the cloud. Buyers who do not want a camera can still choose the standard Echo Studio, which remains on sale at $219.99.


··········


ECHO TIME: A SMART ALARM CLOCK THAT SENSES SLEEP WITHOUT A WEARABLE.


Echo Time is Amazon's first smart alarm clock with Alexa+, and it is deliberately designed without a camera. It has a spherical body with a 3.2-inch circular touchscreen and hundreds of clock faces. In the evening the display dims and reduces blue light, and before the alarm it brightens gradually in the manner of a sunrise.


Its most technical feature is sleep sensing. Amazon says Echo Time uses Omnisense, its sensor fusion technology, combining room temperature sensors and presence detection with ultrasound that detects breathing and proximity, so no wearable is required. Using that signal, the clock can wake the user during lighter sleep at any point within a window of 10 to 60 minutes before the set alarm, instead of at a fixed time. Alarm tones start quietly and grow louder with each snooze, for up to four snoozes. The device carries the National Sleep Foundation's SleepMark.


Sleep sensing is opt-in. It can be switched on or off in the Alexa app's device settings, and it is also disabled when the microphones are muted with the dedicated privacy button. With Alexa+, the clock can set an alarm based on when the user needs to be ready, queue a reminder, play relaxing music and set a sleep-friendly room temperature through connected devices. Echo Time comes in Graphite, Glacier White and Coral Pink, while the Kids version, in Galactic Grape and Cosmic Lime, adds Sleep Studio wind-down content from Calm, Headspace and Moshi and lets parents set sleep schedules through the Amazon Parent Dashboard.


··········


ECHO SHOW 16 AND ALEXA PHOTO FRAME: ALEXA+ ON A LARGER SCREEN.


The Echo Show 16 is the largest display in the new lineup, and Amazon positions it against the Echo Show 15. The company describes a 16-inch full HD screen with 10% more viewing area than the Echo Show 15 and colors it calls twice as vibrant, an anodized aluminum frame that is nearly 40% thinner, and 20% more computing power. The optional Nanomatte version cuts glare by more than 90% and sparkle by 50%, according to the company.


........


Echo Show 16 specification

Value stated by Amazon

Display

16-inch full HD, standard or Nanomatte

Viewing area

10% more than Echo Show 15

Camera

13 MP wide-angle, auto-framing, night vision

Visual ID range

Up to 17 feet, up from 8 feet

Audio

Eight micro woofers and two tweeters

Computing power

20% more, per Amazon

Built-in apps

Fire TV with remote included

Price

$499.99, or $569.99 with Nanomatte


........


The display is where the Alexa+ update is most visible. Conversations appear on screen as Cards, which can be reviewed in a Card Gallery and continued later in the Alexa app or on Alexa.com, and the assistant can generate visual content while it answers. The device offers three Screen Styles, Smart Home, Family Organizer and Photos, plus a customizable favorites bar. It also supports Alexa Home Map, an interactive 3D view of the home in which connected lights, speakers, cameras, locks and thermostats appear in place and can be controlled directly. Amazon says a Home Map preview will roll out later this year on larger Echo Show devices, the Alexa and Ring apps and a dedicated iOS app, and that some map features require compatible Ring cameras and a Ring subscription.


The Alexa Photo Frame, which Amazon calls the first photo frame with Alexa built in, has a 10-inch anti-glare touchscreen and syncs with Amazon Photos to select the best images automatically while skipping screenshots. Users can ask by voice for photos of specific people, pets or trips. Amazon's announcement did not include a price or an availability date for the frame.


··········


WHAT THE LAUNCH MEANS FOR ALEXA AND PRIME CUSTOMERS.


For existing Prime members in the United States, the cost of entry is the device price alone, because Alexa+ is included with Prime and gives unlimited access across Alexa-enabled devices, Alexa.com and the Alexa app. Prime members can switch by saying "Alexa, upgrade to Alexa+" or by signing in at Alexa.com. Households without Prime can subscribe to Alexa+ for $19.99 per month, or use a free, usage-limited text chat on Alexa.com and in the Alexa app, which does not deliver the full device experience Amazon is promoting here.


The distinction matters because Amazon repeatedly states that "certain features require Alexa+" without listing, device by device, which functions work without it. Buyers who intend to rely on the camera-based help of the Echo Studio, the smart wake routines of Echo Time or the Cards interface of the Echo Show 16 should therefore assume that an active Alexa+ entitlement is needed. Features such as the smart home hub, the eero extender and basic audio playback are hardware functions, but Amazon has not published a complete matrix.


The lineup also reflects a wider shift among consumer AI assistants from answering questions toward acting on context in the home, an area where Apple has been extending its own assistant across languages and regions, as covered in our report on Siri AI in iOS 27.2. Amazon's approach is distinctive in combining that assistant with dedicated sensing hardware, from ultrasound sleep detection to a camera on a speaker.


··········


WHAT IS CONFIRMED AND WHAT REMAINS OPEN.


The confirmed facts are the device names, US prices, colors, the immediate availability of the Echo Dot, Echo Studio with Home Camera and Echo Time, the preorder status of the Echo Show 16, the AZ3 chip with an AI Accelerator in the Echo Dot, the camera and privacy indicator on the Echo Studio, the ultrasound-based sleep sensing in Echo Time, and the Alexa+ pricing structure of inclusion with Prime or $19.99 per month without it.


Several points remain undisclosed. Amazon has not given a ship date for the Echo Show 16 beyond "later this year," a price or release date for the Alexa Photo Frame, availability outside the United States, or a date for Fire TV video calling on the Echo Studio with Home Camera. Performance claims, including the 50% bass increase, the 20% computing gain of the Echo Show 16 and the glare reduction of the Nanomatte panel, are Amazon's own figures and have not yet been independently measured. The company also has not described how much of the new Alexa+ reasoning runs on the AZ3 accelerator and how much depends on the cloud, which will determine how the assistant behaves on slower connections.


··········


FOLLOW US FOR MORE.


·····


DATA STUDIOS


·····


datastudios.org


bottom of page