GitHub Copilot joins Apple's Xcode 27.3 coding assistant on all plans

GitHub Copilot is now available inside the coding assistant that Apple builds into Xcode. GitHub announced the change in its official changelog on November 4, 2026, and Apple lists it as the only new Coding Intelligence feature in the release notes for Xcode 27.3 beta. The integration is a public preview, it is open to every GitHub Copilot plan, and it requires a Mac running macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later, the same minimum that Apple sets for the Xcode 27.3 beta itself.
Until now, developers who wanted Copilot while writing Swift in Xcode had to install GitHub's separate Copilot for Xcode app, a source editor extension that runs alongside the IDE and needs several macOS permissions. With Xcode 27.3 beta, Copilot becomes one of the services that can be switched on from Xcode's own Intelligence settings, next to the ChatGPT and Claude options Apple already offers. GitHub states that the existing extension remains available as a separate option, so the new path is an addition and does not replace the older one.
The announcement is short on technical detail. GitHub does not say which Copilot models are exposed inside Xcode, which Copilot features (completions, chat, agent tasks) the built-in assistant can use, or how requests made from Xcode are counted against a plan's AI credits. Those points remain open while the feature is in preview, and the practical sections below separate what GitHub and Apple have documented from what they have left unstated.
··········
GITHUB COPILOT IN XCODE 27.3: WHAT GITHUB AND APPLE ANNOUNCED.
GitHub's changelog entry describes the feature in a few sentences. Copilot now works directly in Xcode's built-in coding assistant, the feature is in public preview, it is supported on all Copilot plans, and it needs Xcode 27.3 beta on macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later. Developers are told to download the beta from Apple Developer Downloads and then open Xcode, Settings and Intelligence to set Copilot up. Feedback can go either to the GitHub Copilot for Xcode repository or to Apple's Feedback Assistant, which signals that both companies are collecting bug reports during the preview.
Apple's release notes for Xcode 27.3 beta confirm the change from the other side. Under the Coding Intelligence heading, the only new feature listed reads that GitHub Copilot is now available in the coding assistant, with Apple's internal tracking number attached. The same beta ships Swift 6.4 and the SDKs for iOS 27.3, iPadOS 27.3, tvOS 27.3, watchOS 27.3, macOS 27.3 and visionOS 27.3, and it supports on-device debugging on iOS 17 and later, tvOS 17 and later, watchOS 10 and later, and visionOS.
The table below collects the facts both companies have published, together with the points that neither document addresses.
........
Item | Status in the official documents |
Availability | Public preview, announced November 4, 2026 |
Xcode version | Xcode 27.3 beta |
macOS requirement | macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later |
Copilot plans | All Copilot plans |
Where to enable it | Xcode > Settings > Intelligence |
Existing extension | Remains available as a separate option |
Models offered in Xcode | Not stated |
Features exposed in Xcode | Not stated |
AI credit consumption | Not stated |
Release date of final Xcode 27.3 | Not stated |
........
··········
HOW XCODE'S CODING ASSISTANT HANDLES OUTSIDE PROVIDERS.
Copilot arrives in a part of Xcode that Apple has already opened to several outside services. Apple's developer guide to setting up coding intelligence describes two groups in the Intelligence settings. The first is a list of agents, which a developer enables by clicking Get next to the agent and then Install; Apple's documentation shows the Claude Agent as an example, and once an agent is enabled in the coding assistant it automatically gets access to Xcode capabilities such as building and testing the app. Agents that support the Agent Client Protocol and are missing from the list can be added manually with the Add an Agent button.
The second group covers chat providers. ChatGPT in Xcode can be used with or without an account, and Apple notes that signing in to a paid ChatGPT account gives higher limits than the free tier; for some models the developer can pick a reasoning level from a pop-up menu under the message field. Claude Sonnet and Opus are enabled by signing in to a Claude account. Any other provider can be added by URL, either hosted on the internet or running locally on the Mac, as long as it supports the Chat Completions API with the `/v1/models` and `/v1/chat/completions` endpoints.
Apple's setup guide, at the time of writing, does not yet describe a GitHub Copilot row or its sign-in flow, so the exact steps inside the Intelligence pane for Copilot are documented only by GitHub's one-line instruction. Apple's guide also warns that the agent a developer sets up may access project files and other information when it processes requests, and it points to the "About Intelligence in Xcode & Privacy" link in the same settings pane for details on what is shared.
··········
SETTING UP GITHUB COPILOT IN THE XCODE 27.3 BETA.
The setup follows the path GitHub describes, combined with the general sign-in pattern Apple documents for accounts in the Intelligence settings. Because Xcode 27.3 is still a beta, teams shipping production apps will usually keep the release version of Xcode installed for builds they submit and use the beta for testing the new assistant.
........
Step | Action |
1 | Update the Mac to macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later |
2 | Download Xcode 27.3 beta from Apple Developer Downloads |
3 | Open Xcode and choose Xcode > Settings |
4 | Select Intelligence in the sidebar |
5 | Turn on GitHub Copilot and sign in with a GitHub account that has a Copilot plan |
6 | Report problems through the Copilot for Xcode repository or Feedback Assistant |
........
Organizations that manage Macs centrally have a switch for the whole feature. Apple documents an MDM key, `CodingAssistantAllowExternalIntegrations`, which turns off the coding assistant's external integrations on managed devices when set to `false`. Companies that have not yet approved Copilot for their iOS and macOS teams can use this key to keep the new option disabled, while those already paying for Copilot Business or Enterprise seats will want to check whether their GitHub policies on models and preview features also apply to requests coming from Xcode, a point GitHub has not documented for this preview.
··········
BUILT-IN XCODE ASSISTANT VS THE GITHUB COPILOT FOR XCODE EXTENSION.
The separate Copilot for Xcode app, published by GitHub under the MIT license, remains the more fully documented way to use Copilot with Apple's IDE. Its official repository lists code completions, a chat panel, agent mode, next edit suggestions, code review, Copilot Vision and support for Model Context Protocol tools, including an MCP registry. Agent mode in the extension can edit files, run terminal commands, search the codebase, create files and directories and call configured MCP tools.
The extension works with much older software, requiring macOS 13 or later and Xcode 14 or later, but its installation is heavier. Developers install it with Homebrew (`brew install --cask github-copilot-for-xcode`) or from a DMG, allow a background item, and grant three permissions: Background, Accessibility and the Xcode Source Editor Extension, the last of which must be enabled by hand in the Extensions panel. GitHub also recommends turning off Xcode's own predictive code completion to avoid two sets of suggestions competing in the editor, and it recommends version 0.50.0 or later of the plugin for the new usage-based billing.
........
Aspect | Built-in coding assistant | Copilot for Xcode extension |
Status | Public preview | Available |
Xcode version | 27.3 beta | Xcode 14 or later |
macOS version | Tahoe 26.6 or later | macOS 13 or later |
Installation | Xcode Intelligence settings | Homebrew or DMG, plus three permissions |
Documented features | Not detailed by GitHub | Completions, chat, agent mode, next edit suggestions, code review, MCP |
Copilot plans | All plans | GitHub account with Copilot |
........
For developers on the release version of Xcode, nothing changes today: the extension is still the only way to use Copilot, and it keeps working. For those testing Xcode 27.3, the built-in option removes the separate app and its permission prompts, at the cost of features that GitHub has not yet confirmed for the new path.
··········
GITHUB COPILOT PLANS AND AI CREDITS FOR XCODE USERS.
Since GitHub says the Xcode integration works on all Copilot plans, the plan a developer already has determines how far it can be used. GitHub's official plans page lists four individual tiers priced in US dollars per user per month, with usage now measured in AI credits worth $0.01 each. Code completions and next edit suggestions do not consume AI credits on any plan.
........
Plan | Price per month | Base AI credits | Total monthly credits | Code completions |
Copilot Free | $0 | Limited chat and agent usage | Not stated | 2,000 per month |
Copilot Pro | $10 | $10 | $15 | Unlimited |
Copilot Pro+ | $39 | $39 | $70 | Unlimited |
Copilot Max | $100 | $100 | $200 | Unlimited |
........
Business and Enterprise prices are not listed on the plans page, which directs companies to sales, and GitHub now includes Copilot access with GitHub Enterprise, a change covered in our report on GitHub Enterprise including Copilot with no seat charge. For a side-by-side view of what Copilot costs against Cursor, Claude Code, Codex and other coding tools, see our guide to AI coding agent pricing.
The open question for Xcode users is billing. GitHub has not said whether chat or agent requests made through Xcode's coding assistant draw from the same AI credit balance as requests made in VS Code, the CLI or GitHub.com, although the "all Copilot plans" wording suggests the integration is tied to the developer's existing Copilot subscription. Developers on the Free plan, which caps chat and agent usage, should expect to hit limits sooner if they move most of their daily work into Xcode's assistant.
··········
XCODE 27.3 BETA CHANGES BEYOND GITHUB COPILOT.
The same beta carries several changes that affect developers testing the Copilot integration. Swift Testing can now be used to write UI tests together with `XCUIAutomation`, and a new `XCUIHinge` class lets UI tests set the hinge angle on iPhone Duo. In Device Hub, developers can drag an app bundle (`.app` or `.ipa`) onto a device to install it, drop a link to open it on the device, or drop other files onto an iOS simulator to save them in the Files app.
Apple also expanded the RenderPreview MCP tool, which renders Xcode previews on request: snapshot filenames and metadata now include the overrides that were applied, macOS previews support interactive delayed snapshots, and two bugs that made the tool report no previews or render the wrong one have been fixed. These MCP changes are relevant to anyone running agents in Xcode, since the coding assistant's agents rely on the same Xcode capabilities. The iOS 27.3 beta cycle also opened Siri AI integration to all developers, as described in our article on Apple opening Siri AI to developers via App Intents.
The move follows a pattern GitHub has repeated this week with other development environments, including the launch covered in our report on GitHub Copilot joining JetBrains Air, where Copilot plans were extended into a third-party IDE instead of requiring a separate plugin.
··········
GITHUB COPILOT IN XCODE: CONFIRMED FACTS AND OPEN QUESTIONS.
The confirmed part of the story is narrow and well documented by both companies. GitHub Copilot is available in Xcode's built-in coding assistant as a public preview, it works with every Copilot plan, it requires Xcode 27.3 beta and macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later, and it is enabled from the Intelligence pane in Xcode's settings. Apple's release notes list it as the single new Coding Intelligence feature of the beta, and GitHub keeps its Copilot for Xcode extension available as a separate option.
The unconfirmed part is larger. Neither company has said which Copilot models appear in Xcode, whether the integration covers inline completions, chat, agent tasks or all three, how its usage is billed in AI credits, whether Copilot Business and Enterprise policies carry over, or when Xcode 27.3 will leave beta. Apple's own setup guide does not yet document the Copilot option, and its privacy note on project files applies to every agent enabled in the assistant.
For iOS and macOS teams that already pay for Copilot, the preview offers a way to use the same subscription inside Apple's IDE without installing a separate app, alongside the ChatGPT and Claude options Apple already provides. Teams that depend on agent mode, MCP tools or code review in Xcode today have a documented path only through the extension, and they should keep it until GitHub publishes the feature list and billing rules for the built-in integration.
··········
FOLLOW US FOR MORE.
·····
DATA STUDIOS
·····
datastudios.org




